Cross Country Wraps Up Season at NCAA Division III New England Regionals

Cross Country Wraps Up Season at NCAA Division III New England Regionals

WESTFIELD, Mass. – UMass Dartmouth's cross country squads wrapped up the 2016 season on Saturday, as 13 Corsairs ran amongst the best of the region at the 2016 NCAA Division III New England Regionals, hosted by Westfied State at Stanley Park.

The Basics

Men's Team: 24th of 56 Teams (743 Points)
Women's Team:
34th of 59 Teams (978 Points) 

How it Happened

As they have in every meet on the season, senior captains Michael Vaz (Dartmouth, Mass.) and Reme DiGiovanni (Southborough, Mass.) were again the top finishers for UMass Dartmouth in their respective meets. DiGiovanni crossed the line in a career-best 6K time of 23:25, placing 100th overall in the field of 406 runners. Vaz was the 84th finisher in the men's race, timing in at 26:14 on the 8K course in the field of 384. 

In the men's competition, senior Sean Herlihy (Walpole, Mass.) was close behind Vaz, taking 108th overall in 26:37. Freshman Robbie Hanlon (Melrose, Mass.) was the third Corsair finisher, tripping the timer at 27:35 to finish 164th overall. UMass Dartmouth bettered last year's regional finish by two places and more than 50 points. 

For the women, freshman Victoria Spitaels (West Newton, Mass.) wrapped up her solid rookie year as the Corsairs' second finisher, crossing the line in a season-best 6K time of 24:11 to place 157th. Sophomore Kirsten Harnden (Fitchburg, Mass.) placed 209th with a time of 24:51 as UMass Dartmouth's third overall finisher. The women placed 34th for the second-straight year, but lowered their point total by 30 from 2015.

In team scoring, MIT topped both the men's and women's rankings to take the Regional titles, collecting 110 points in the men's race and 68 in the women's. Tufts' Brittany Bowman was the individual champion on the women's side, finishing in a time of 21:14, while fellow Jumbo Tim Nichols won the men's race in 23:54.

Corsair Results


84th – Michael Vaz: 26:14

108th – Sean Herlihy: 26:37

164th – Robbie Hanlon: 27:35

192nd – Dominic Roy: 28:02

195th – Timothy Post: 28:04

213th – Cory Jordan: 28:23



110thReme DiGiovanni: 23:25

157thVictoria Spitaels: 24:11

209thKirsten Harnden: 24:51

221stJessica O'Reilly: 25:01

306thHannah Laughlin: 26:39

317thRachel Frazier: 26:53

331stJen Miranda: 27:09